The Daley dairy was established on the corner of Collins and James Street Northcote in 1934. A well equipped dairy, boasting large silo at the rear of the house, it was considered something of a showpiece dairy by Department of Agriculture. It was also somewhat unique in the area in being a fully professional operation at a time when most dairies were still run with just a couple of cows kept in the back yard.
Using a combination of Ayrshire and Jersey cows kept in the surrounding paddocks the Daley family supplied bottled milk to Northcote residents.
Frank Daley not only milked the cows but also bottled the milk, before selling it to Northcote residents. Using Ayrshire and Jersey cows he was regarded as providing a high quality and disease free milk.